Tuesday, October 13, 2020 02:49 PM

FOOD ALLERGY IN BRIEF: MILK IN DAIRY-FREE CHOCOLATE; SESAME LABEL UPDATE - ALLERGIC LIVING

Milk Risks in Dark ChocolatePhoto: Getty

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has found that some dark chocolate labeled as dairy-free or milk-free contained levels of milk protein that would be dangerous for those with a dairy allergy.

FDA investigators assessed several samples from 52 U.S.-made products (mostly dark chocolate bars, and also dark chocolate chips). Four of 52 dark chocolate bars had dairy protein levels from 600 parts per million up to 3,100 ppm, according to the assessment, released on Oct. 1, 2020.

While dark chocolate can be made without milk, the FDA identified using shared lines with milk-containing products as an issue. In these cases, it is possible that milk may inadvertently wind up in the dark chocolate, said an FDA media release.

The four chocolate bars, two of which were produced by the same manufacturer, were recalled last year. The FDA didnt name the manufacturers. Dairy is one of the Top 8 U.S. allergens that must be labeled when its an ingredient. While the agency does not regulate dairy-free or milk-free claims on labels, there is legislation that absence claims must be truthful.

To stay safe with a milk allergy, the FDA advises

News source: GOOGLE NEWS

See also: Steven Enrich